Step back!

I just walked by the window in my home and saw the biggest snowflakes floating by. As I got up close to the window, it was more difficult to see them though and I heard the Holy Spirit say, step back and you’ll see them better. Instantly, I heard and experienced this great peace overwhelm me.

Did you hear that? Step back. And you’ll be able to see things clearer. 

So I stepped back a few feet and sure enough the view became much clearer and I could see more of the landscape of the snow falling. I could enjoy it more, by not being so close to it. 

I could make out each snowflake as they slowly floated by. 

Chasing them with my eyes, trying to see the shapes as they journeyed on.

Sometimes in order to gain perscpetive in life, we often need to step back from our emotions, our plans and expectations, in order to consider the bigger picture. It’s easy to get caught up in our circumstances and the drama of life. 

What if, we took a step back, caught our breath and surrendered our plans, circumstances and emotions over to the one who created us. “Sometimes we get so overwhelmed by our circumstances that we lose perspective.”

In Proverbs 16:3 it says, Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.” 

So today, let us be reminded of taking a step back from our fears, our worries, our plans etc…  and to sit in the peace that passes all understanding. To surrender our emotions and will over to the Lord and ask Him to fill us with His peace and to have clearer vision of the future, so we can see the bigger picture, not the one within our limited view that keeps us from our destiny and future. 

Leave a comment